When You’ve Met One Person With #Autism

Published January 16, 2013 by mandzmagee

Over the past few weeks I’ve spent time with people who’ve wanted to learn more about ASD.  It’s been interesting hearing what their perceptions about it has been and where they learn their perceptions from.  After finding out how they base all their knowledge on films such as “Rain Man” and “Mercury Rising” and the such likes, I begin to tell them about Theo’s daily routines and how life is for him.

I try to express as strongly as possible that “When you’ve met one person with Autism, You’ve met ONE person with Autism”.

I could talk forever and a day about Theo, about how life is different for his siblings and our family.  I could talk forever and a day about how if his routine is messed up it can take from hours to days to try and settle him back into his normality depending on how upset and anxious this change has made him.  I could talk about how moving from Dumfries to Washington has made such a dramatic impact on his development that the things I was told he’d “never achieve” have been accomplished and how he’s surpassed his believers expectations never mind the disbelievers.

I always come back to the same line however “When you’ve met Theo, You’ve only met Theo”.

It doesn’t matter if you know a million and one children with ASD, you still know another million and one more that have ASD affect their lives in different ways to the first lot!

I’ve found myself suggesting groups and blogs to people via facebook and I came across one group which I found perfect to reference people too, people with ASD, parents, carers, family members have all posted up a picture of “The hidden disability” and a little bio of the person with ASD’s likes and dislikes.  It shows how such a small label is different in such a vast variety of ways.  It’s also very very humbling to read.  The page is available here … https://www.facebook.com/AutismShines?ref=ts&fref=ts

I absolutely encourage you to help your knowledge of Autism grow and develop by looking at the page!!

Leave a Reply

