Published December 19, 2012 by mandzmagee

Fantastic read!

Beyond Autism Awareness

It’s been almost a week since I last posted an entry. I had hoped to elevate others’ moods (and my own) this holiday season with the last entry “Autism Night Before Christmas” but as with the universe, the plans of mere mortals often go awry.

I did not want to post something here until today because I wanted to be sure of my own convictions in light of the horrific tragedy in Newtown, Connecticut last Friday.  Not that I was unsure of them per se; I guess the enormity of the whole situation was overwhelming and numbing.

The inevitable link made by the media over the gunman’s possible Asperger’s diagnosis and his nihilistic action did not make sense to me.  I am a parent of an Autistic child and work in a large residential setting for Developmentally Delayed adults, some with Autism, most with Mental Retardation and co-existing…

View original post 796 more words

Leave a Reply

